top of page

Six Time Champion - Expecting Honesty

Brighton, UK based pop-punkers Six Time Champion let themselves be heard with their brand new studio release, “Expecting Honesty”. The collection combines the worlds of pop-punk and hardcore into one indelible musical delight that continues to reinforce the notion of England as a hotbed for loads of pop-punk bands that echo the Drive Thru Records revolution here in the U.S. back in the early 2000's.

We start things off with “Running Dry”, a fast paced number with fervent guitar riffs and a strong musical outset that introduces the band's raw, no holds barred musical dynamic to a curious listening audience who may not be too familiar with the band. “Happiness In Emptiness” is my favorite track off the effort that has shades of New Found Glory embedded within the band's musical fibers that show the American influence that has rubbed off on the gents, with a strong musical cohesion and a steady musical pace that makes the band a quick draw with this strong track. The title track has more of a fast paced punk influence that we heard in the opening song, and shows off a more progressive side of the group and their ability to dabble in different tempos and wavelengths that give them the opportunity to go outside of the box into a different musical dynamic that they're used to. “Dragging My Feet” gets us ready for the conclusion of the album with a terrific back to front number that is pure, unadulterated pop-punk at its finest with a strong musical mainframe and deep passionate vocals that make you feel the emotion emanating ever so strongly from this collection. We close things out with “Separation”, a straight forward punk number that does a great job of tying up some loose ends from the previous tracks, and drawing a correlation between all the tracks featured here to see where we came from on our journey to the end.

All in all, a standard musical effort from Six Time Champion, a band that is starting to find its place among the pantheon of U.K. bands that are beginning to come over in the first wave of the pop-punk revolution that echoes the British Invasion of the 60's in some sorts, but with a more refined and controlled audience and fanfare.

EP Score: 3.5/5

Track Listing:

  • Running Dry

  • Happiness To Emptiness

  • Expecting Honesty

  • Dragging My Feet

  • Separation

6 views0 comments
bottom of page