top of page

We Were Astronauts - Artificial Light

Screen shot 2014-09-23 at 12.08.16 AM.png

Boston's own We Were Astronauts have launched their brand new EP titled "Artifical Light" The 5 song collection is a terrific collection of tunes pieced together harmoniously to create a visual and aurally pleasing effort that shows the band's full musical dynamic in action and the full force of all parties involved in the making of this effort.

We start things out with "Golden", a melodically charged effort that shows off the band's keen musicianship featuring densely layered and compacted melodies built upon sharply focused vocals that hit at you almost immediately and give you a sense of what's to come from the rest of the album to follow. "I Wanna Know" is my favorite track off the album that speaks to mind about the volume of creativity emanating directly from the group's center with top notch guitar riffs, deep and punctuating vocals, and extremely well written lyrics that bring everything full circle and gives off a strong musical dexterity that can't possibly be matched by anyone else. "Music City" takes things down a few notches with a more downtempo affair that shows off the band's diversity with passionate vocals melding in together beautifully with the mellow nature of the song that show that the band is a jack of all trades, who aren't afraid to tackle anything in their midst. "Hollywood" gets us ready for the conclusion of the album with a more pop ready number that gives each band member a chance to prove their mettle and stand out immensely from the pack and bring the whole content of the album full circle as well. "Keep It Together" winds down our stay with a electrically charged effort that permeates all the way throughout with lively guitars complementing the rich vocals at bay here and manages to connect the dots from the previous songs quite nicely and wrap everything up on point.

In summary, a well executed and constructed effort from We Were Astronauts, a local Boston area band that is starting to gain some traction in the local circles, and are a group who do a great job of keeping everything simple and in perspective for us to marvel over.

EP Score: 4/5

Track Listing:

  • Golden

  • I Wanna Know

  • Music City

  • Hollywood

  • Keep It Together

2 views0 comments
bottom of page