top of page

Dah Rhyl Gah Moor - The Sounds That Prawns Make

The Sounds That Prawns Make is a 5-song EP by London-based Dah Rhyl Gah Moor. The album made me tap my feet, nod my head, and yearn for whenever I’m going to be able to see this band live.

Whoever produced, mixed, and mastered this album need desperately to be complimented. I tried listening from my phone, my laptop, from good speakers and bad ones, and never found a deviation from the stellar sound quality.

I would not listen to any of these songs for their lyrics. “Blow” is fun, fantastically recorded, and features a, for lack of a better word, badass beat, but the lyrics are trite and uninspired. In “Simba,” they sing about “the audacity of lovers” which in itself is pretty audacious for this genre of music.

Dah Rhyl Gah Moor’s singer has a nasal voice, which works extremely well with their backing tracks. In a different context, her voice could get annoying. It nearly does here. But the emphasis is on “nearly.”

My favourite track was the fourth one, “Oven.” It starts off with a massively compelling beat, accompanied by the sound of rainfall. The vocals in this song are the best in the album; a slightly higher register makes their singer’s voice stand in a much better light. The vocal harmony at the end helps it build consistently all the way through, and I didn’t stop tapping my feet once. It’s just fun. I don’t know how else to say it. It’s fun as shit.

I think the album should have ended after that song. “Facial” starts almost exactly the same way – so similarly I actually had to double check it wasn’t the same song. The keyboard effect is, I’m pretty sure, the same, with the same rhythm, and similar chords.

The best part about this album is its production, and if you were to play it at a party, people would get up and dance. It’s fun, and it’s happy, and “Oven” is a fabulous song. I’d be very interested to hear a full album by Dah Rhyl Gah Moor, with more variations of song styles and backing tracks. I wish I lived in London, because I bet they’re hot shit live. Stream on Bandcamp here.

Score: 3/5

Track Listing:

1. Blow

2. Rim

3. Simba

4. Oven

5. Facial

8 views0 comments
bottom of page